Flowers

It’s spring again! The skies are sunny and the air is fresh. The trees look alive with small flower buds emerging in pinks, whites and yellows.

The idea of  spring to me, always meant, that I beat the adversity  of winter ( metaphorical) because it is the season when a school or work year usually came to an end. I like to think that the weather turned sunny because I deserved some light, the flowers were the reward for my hardwork.Spring days by Ashraful Arefin on 500px

The reason , I’m writing about “flowers” as a whole entry is because of the significance I believe it holds in my life. For as long as I can remember , I have loved just looking at and smelling flowers. There is something so soft and feminine about them. I would always collect a bunch and keep them with me. Sometimes even after they withered, I would try and save the petals in a notebook. It’s really hard to explain but I like to think they add a splash of color into my otherwise monotone life. This is silly, but I have always wanted to be given flowers, well not necessarily from a boy or anything but just have someone realize that it’s precious to me. Funny isn’t it but I just love associating spring things like rain, flowers, picnics and sundresses to happiness. Aside from the obvious romantic appeal spring brings, it also just feels healing. This 2019, is my first spring on my own. Somehow , I feel everything a lot more intensely this time, I don’t know why but I guess it’s because I am alone- if that makes any sense 😛

Apart from flowers and spring showers, this time the season has blessed me with a beautiful Korean song called “Beautiful Goodbye” by CHEN ( please keep this in mind, because you haven’t heard the last of it 😉 ) . It is probably one of the most powerful songs I have ever heard. It is a soulful ballad that talks about leaving a loved one once April passes. To be very honest , even though it has something to do with love , I think everyone would interpret it differently. To me it just represents selflessness and that really moves me . The world is a really shitty place, is there really any room for us to be selfless these days?  Is anyone or anything even worth it?

Well maybe , we need to learn or two from those flowers that bloom so selflessly despite the harsh world !

Leave a comment